1 414-918-9890

Young Investigator Awards

CAHON gives travel awards to Young Investigators to foster growth and achievement amongst CAHON’s early career or physician-in-training members. The award is based on the scientific merit of abstracts accepted to either the American Society of Clinical Oncology ASCO) Annual Meeting or the American Society of Hematology (ASH). The Young Investigator Awards are traditionally handed out during the Semi Annual Summer and Winter Symposiums.


Young Investigator Award Recipients

2021 (Summer)

  • Anabeth Liu, MD - Washington University School of Medicine
  • Qian Wang, MD, MPH - Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
  • Alex Wu, MD - Maimonides Medical Center

2020 (Winter)

  • Shijia Zhang, MD, PhD -
  • Mengyang Di, MD, PhD - Rhode Island Hospital
  • Adam Lin, MD, PhD - Northwestern University
  • Christopher Su, MD, MPH - University of Michigan
  • Iris Sheng, MD - Cleveland Clinic
  • Jennifer Sheng, MD - Johns Hopkins University
  • Tianyi Tang, MD, PhD - UC Irvine Medical Center
  • Haiyun (Helen) Wang, MD -  University of Minnesota
  • Jing Xi, MD, MPH - Washington University

International Winners

  • Yan Xie, MD - First Affiliated Hospital of Soochow University
  • Ya Zhang, MD - Shandong Provincial Hospital
  • Xiangxiang Zhou, MD - Shandong Provincial Hospital

2019 (Winter)

  • Christina Poh, MD - University of California at Davis
  • Mengyang Di, MD, PhD - Rhode Island Hospital

International Winners

  • Peiqi Zhao, PhD - Tianjin Medical University Cancer Institute and Hospital
  • Tongyuan Xue,  MD, PhD Candidate - Irell & Manella Graduate School of Biological Sciences
  • Xiangxiang Zhou, MD - Shandong Provincial Hospital

2019 (Summer)

  • Sophie Feng, MD, Princess Margaret Hospital
  • Changchuan Jiang, MD, PhD, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
  • Siyu Shi, MD Candidate, Stanford School of Medicine
  • Hao Xie, MD, PhD, Mayo Clinic

2018 (Winter)

  • Mengyang Di, MD, PhD, Brown University
  • Ning Dong, PhD, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School
  • Amy Wang, PhD, University of Chicago Medical School
  • Shijia Zhang, MD, PhD, University of  Minnesota


Application Process for Young Investigator Awards

Eligibility Criteria

  1. Current CAHON member –Available to physicians-in-training, including residency or fellowship training (Associate Member Category, waived dues) or physicians within 3 years of fellowship training at the level of instructor or assistant professor (Active Member Category, dues $100 USD)

Membership applications available at http://www.cahon.org/membership

  1. Recognized as the first or senior author in the abstract or presentation presented at the ASCO Annual Meeting.
  2. Availability to attend CAHON’s Young Investigator Award Ceremony during CAHON’s Summer or Winter Symposium.

Application Instructions

Applications should include:

  • YIA Application Form
  • Accepted ASCO abstract including the abstract category (i.e., clinical, translational, etc.)
  • CV, including education and current training level or position


Last updated: July 9, 2021